Orono Community Education works in cooperation with Westonka Driving School, but you may choose any driving school you wish.
Each student must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction as mandated by Minnesota State law. Orono Community Education offers several sessions during the year, register at www.oronocommunityed.com or call 952-449-8350. Upon completion of the classroom instruction, you will receive a course completion card.
Students age 15 or older must exchange their course completion card for a blue card before taking permit test. If you choose Westonka Driving School for behind-the-wheel training, you may make the exchange at Orono Community Education Office located in the Orono Education Link at 705 Old Crystal Bay Rd. Bring the completion card along with a down payment of $180.00 (total cost $360) to receive the blue card. Instructor, Rob Illies, will accept cash or check (made out to Westonka Driving School).
Book in-person appointments online at drive.mn.gov and select Schedule or Reschedule an Exam.
You will need the blue card, signed by the student, to take the permit examination. TWO of the following forms of identification are required: CERTIFIED COPY OF BIRTH CERTIFICATE (no photocopies), PASSPORT, OR SCHOOL ID. You must also have your child’s social security number or social security card.
When the student has passed the permit examination, you may set up behind-the-wheel instruction. If using Westonka Driving School, a final payment of $180.00 will be required after completion of the student’s behind-the wheel program.
You may schedule online at www.westonkadrivingschool.com.
Students may take the road test if they are at least 16 years old and must have had a driving permit for at least 6 months, completed 6 hours of behind-the-wheel and completed a driving log.
Parents/guardians have two options regarding the supervised driving log.
1. Complete a supplemental parent class provided by a driver education program approved in Minnesota, and then submit a supervised driving log showing their teen has completed at least 40 hours (2,400 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 (900 minutes) of which are nighttime
2. If the parent/guardian chooses to not complete the supplemental parent class, the driving log must show that their teen has completed at least 50 hours (3,000 minutes) of supervised driving, 15 (900 minutes) of which are
You may schedule a road test online at drive.mn.gov.
If you have any questions about Driver’s Education you can find additional information at www.westonkadrivingschool.com or email Rob Illies at email@example.com.
Rob’s phone numbers: 952-955-1486 (W) or text 952-237-5971.