See What the Excitement is All About! Orono Activities Center Now Open!

Skip to main content

IS Math Masters team wins second place

Post 5 of 23
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Math Masters logoMath Masters teams from Orono Intermediate School returned from regional competition with second and fourth places. In all, the 35 fifth-graders captured 10 ribbons, seven medals and a trophy. The competition was held April 26 at in Shoreview.

The field of competitors included 130 students on 28 teams. OIS sent seven teams; Blaine, Champlin, Edina, Forest Lake, Maple Grove and Mounds View were also represented.

Team Descartes took second place. Its members are Zachary Henson, Adrian Licursi, Evelyn Miller, Kiara Vaughan and Maggie Wallander.

Team Hawking won fourth place. Its members are Brynn Leibfried, Cannon Lewis, Elise Meyer, Sophia Nguyen and Luke Withrow.

Orono’s remaining five teams placed ninth (Team Pythagoras), 11th (Team Lovelace), 14th (Team Browne), 17th (Team Fibonacci) and 24th (Team Euclid).

OIS also did well in the individual round competition:  Adrian Licursi, third; Zachary Hensen, 14 th, Kaia Erickson, 15th, and Evelyn Miller, 16th.

In the fact drill competition, OIS landed fourth place (Jeha Hwang), 19th (Adrian Licursi) and 21st (Zachary Henson).

Math Masters coaches are teachers Cindy Conger and Diane Bacon.

Picture of second-place team members

Team Descartes, which won second place, is comprised of members (from left) Adam Licursi, Evelyn Miller, Kiara Vaughan, Maggie Wallander, and Zachary Hensen.


All IS Math Masters team members

Orono Intermediate School sent 35 Math Masters to regional competition on April 26.