See What the Excitement is All About! Orono Activities Center Now Open!

Skip to main content

School Board re-elects Tunheim as its chair

Post 11 of 23
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bob Tunheim headshotBob Tunheim was unanimously re-elected by his Orono School Board colleagues as chair for the 2019 calendar year. The vote, taken at the Jan. 14 meeting, was part of the board’s annual reorganization.

Tunheim was first elected to the board in 2009, and succeeded John Malone as chair in 2016. He will continue to serve on the board’s negotiations committee and cocurricular activities committee. He will also be the board’s liaison to the Minnesota State High School League and the City of Maple Plain.

Martha Van de Ven was re-elected vice chair, Michael Bash as clerk and Dick Lewis as treasurer.

Board members agreed to continue to serve without compensation, a practice that’s been in place for well over 15 years. Orono is the only district in the west metropolitan area that does not compensate its board members.