We’re building excitement! View Construction Progress of Indoor Activities Center

Skip to main content

School Board re-elects Tunheim as its chair

Post 19 of 31
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
School Board Chair Bob Tunheim

School Board Chair Bob Tunheim

Bob Tunheim was unanimously re-elected by his Orono School Board colleagues as chair for the 2018 calendar year. The vote, taken at the January 8 meeting, was part of the board’s annual reorganization.

Tunheim, as well as Martha Van de Ven and Sarah Borchers, were re-elected to four-year terms in November 2017. Each took an Oath of Office at the beginning of the meeting.

Tunheim was first elected to the board in 2009, and succeeded John Malone as chair in 2016. He will continue to serve on the board’s negotiations committee and cocurricular activities committee.  He will also be the board’s liaison to the Minnesota State High School League and the City of Maple Plain. See all School Board committee assignments here.

Martha Van de Ven was re-elected vice chair, Michael Bash as clerk and Dick Lewis as treasurer.

Board members agreed to continue serving without compensation, a practice that’s been in place for well over 10 years. Orono is the only district in the west metropolitan area that does not compensate its board members.