We’re building excitement! View Construction Progress of Indoor Activities Center

Skip to main content

Nine teachers earn tenure in the district

Post 31 of 37
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Nine teachers employed by Orono Schools have been granted tenure during the 2017-18 school year. This noteworthy accomplishment was celebrated in a ceremony prior to the November 13 School Board meeting.

Honored were (alphabetically by school):

Cover of tenure programOrono Schumann Elementary

  • Emily Purnell, second-grade teacher (mentor Betsy Taylor)
  • Becky Schultz, first-grade teacher (mentor Tina Dickinson)

Orono Intermediate School

  • Laura Mayo, art teacher (mentor Mary Holmgren)

Orono Middle School

  • Alyssa Buckner, science teacher (mentor Catherine Russin)
  • Marie Campbell, English teacher (mentor Dr. Amanda Sass-Henke)
  • Jessica Strom, science teacher (mentor Ruth Larson)

Orono High School

  • Erin Head, English language learners (mentor Kelli Silva)
  • Mark McConnell, special education teacher (mentor Iris Erickson)
  • Hannah Proell, speech-language pathologist (mentor Ellen Fritz)

The state’s tenure law provides continuing contract status for new teachers who have successfully completed three years of service in a district. Teachers who have achieved tenure in another district need to complete one successful year to achieve tenure.