We’re building excitement! Learn about the Indoor Activities Center Core Planning Group

OIS Math Masters win first, second and third

Post 18 of 58
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Math MastersFor the first time, Math Masters teams from Orono Intermediate School returned from regional competition with the top three honors. In all, the 35 fifth-graders captured 25 ribbons, medals and championship plaques. The competition was held April 21 at Chaska Community Center.

The field of competitors included 173 students on 36 teams. OIS sent seven teams; East Carver County, Edina, Eden Prairie, Hopkins, Minnetonka and Mound Westonka were also represented.

Team Pythagoras took first place. Its members are Leah Barry, Joey Mariani, Miles Miner, Elliot Tysdal and Nelli Vajko.

Team Descartes won second place. Its members are Grace Bickett, Spencer Bowe, Hagen Burrows, Natalie Close and Walter Royal.

And, coming in third, was Team Fibonacci. Its members are Christopher Byrnes, Lisle Cherwien, Peton Manson, Hazel Solie and Luke Wendling.

Orono’s remaining four teams placed sixth (Team Hawking), 12th (Team Euclid), 18th (Team Lovelace); and 28th (Team Browne).

OIS also did well in the individual competition, with six students placing in the top 10:  Nelli Vajko, third; Hagen Burrows, fourth; Walter Royal, sixth; Luke Wendling, seventh; Miles Miner, eighth; and Petyon Manson, 10th.

Other top scorers in the individual round included Spencer Bowe, 15th; Ali Fiataruolo, 17th; Max Moriarty, 18th; Grace Bickett, 19th; Joey Mariani, 20th; and Henry Zimmerman, 23rd.

In the fact drill competition, OIS landed the top two places with Victor Ruhland winning first and Grace Bickett taking second.

Other top finishers were Kaeli Koopman, ninth; Hagen Burrows, 10th; Spencer Bowe and Miles Miner, 12th; Joey Mariani, Allyson Nafstad and Hazel Solie, 19th; Carys Summers, 22nd.

Math Masters coaches are teachers Cindy Conger and Molly Hesse.

first-place_web second-place_web third-place_web

First Place

Team Pythagoras members are, left to right, front row – Nelli Vajko and Leah Barry. Back row – Joey Mariani, Miles Miner and Elliot Tysdal.

Second Place

Team Descartes members are, left to right, front row – Grace Bickett and Natalie Close. Back row – Spencer Bowe, Hagen Burrows and Walter Royal.

 Third Place

Team Fibonacci members are, left to right, front row – Peyton Manson and Hazel Solie. Back row – Christopher Byrnes, Luke Wendling and Lisle Cherwien.

Orono Public Schools