We’re building excitement! Learn about the Indoor Activities Center Core Planning Group

OHS speech team sends nine to state

Post 18 of 55

speechThe Orono High School speech team won second place in the Section 2AA Minnesota High School League tournament and will be sending nine speakers to state. The section competition was held April 8 at Chanhassen High School. Chanhassen won the section, while Eden Prairie, Chaska and Marshall placed third, fourth and fifth respectively.

It is the first sectional trophy for OHS, which has also captured six consecutive Wright County Conference championships. State competition for AA schools will be held Friday, April 21, at Apple Valley High School.

Only the top three students in each category advance to state. Four OHS speakers were section champions:

  • Jesse Bissen, serious interpretation-drama, “Parakeets at 9:48”
  • Natalie Cumming, serious interpretation-poetry, “Checking Other”
  • Jillian Dore, storytelling
  • Shane Hewitt, great speeches, “What Is American?”

Also qualifying for the state tournament are:

  • Andy Baran, second, discussion
  • Sophia Giovanis, second, serious interpretation-drama, “Hal and the Sweetness”
  • Elaina Henderson, second, serious interpretation-prose, “Help Me Find My Spaceman Lover”
  • Emma Koltes, second, serious interpretation-poetry, “The Adopted Orphan”
  • Alex Berger, third, extemporaneous speaking

These speakers are coached by co-head coaches Barb Shofner and Julie McMerty along with assistant coaches Tex Ostvig (discussion), Steve Ruedisili and Kris Kracht (extemporaneous speaking), Val Thies and Steve Ruedesili (great speeches), Nicolle Berg (storytelling), Jason Davidson (serious drama) and Amanda Vautrin (serious poetry).

An additional nine students reached the finals at the section tournament:  Natalie Bever, fourth, informative speaking; Ella Gagne, fourth, extemporaneous speaking; Hanna Rose Harbison, fourth, original oratory; Nate Schultz, fourth, humorous interpretation; Carolyn Koehl, fifth, extemporaneous speaking; Tavo Moline, fifth, humorous interpretation; Josh Sheridan, fifth, creative expression; Ashley Clemens, sixth, serious interpretation-poetry; and Ben McKee, humorous interpretation.

The OHS speech team also received national recognition, earning a First Diamond degree of membership in the National Speech & Debate Association’s Honor Society.  The honor is based on students’ speech and debate presentations, competition and service. The team will be recognized at the 2017 National Speech & Debate Tournament in Birmingham, Alabama, in June.

Orono High School speech team members headed to state are, from left: front
row – Elaine Henderson, Emma Koltes, Shane Hewitt, Natalie Cumming and
Jillian Dore. Back row – Andy Baran, Alex Berger and Jesse Bissen. Not
pictured is Sophia Giovanis.

Orono Public Schools